Quick Links

Quick Links

Freeman's Endowed C.E Junior Academy

  • SearchSearch Site
  • Translate Translate Page
  • Twitter Twitter

Protected Characteristics

The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation because of the protected characteristics that we all have.

Under the Equality Act, there are nine protected characteristics:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race -  including colour, nationality, ethnic or national origin
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity

No form of discrimination is tolerated at Freeman's Endowed CE Junior Academy and our pupils show respect for those who share the protected characteristics. 

The curriculum is planned and delivered so that our pupils develop age appropriate knowledge and understanding during their time at Freeman's. 

The 9 Protected Characteristics are actively promoted in school through:
• Our school ethos statements
• Our school core values
• Our school behaviour policy
• Conscious role modelling by all adults in the school community
• Active engagement and communication with parents and carers
• Collective Worship
• Picture News
• Personal, Social, Health and Economic education (PSHE) sessions
• Relationships & Sex education (RSE) sessions
• Pupil Voice
• Educational visits
• School council
• Extra-curricular activities

Find out more about Protected Characteristics here: 

Scroll up

Peterborough Diocese Education Trust

PDET is a family of Church of England Schools across Northamptonshire, Peterborough and Rutland.

Visit Site